DE
EN

Audi Interactive City

The Audi Urban Future Initiative is a forum and think tank for urban mobility in the future. The Initiative holds workshops, commissions research from academic and cultural institutions, and also presents the biannual Audi Urban Future Award. The winners in 2012 were architects Höweler+Yoon with a study on mobility in the Boston metropolitan area.

For the International Consumer Electronics Show 2014 in Las Vegas, Audi asked madhat to develop an exhibit that would turn the architects' vision into an interactive experience. Working to a design sketch provided by Höweler+Yoon, madhat created a futuristic city model that is brought to life by real-time 3D, augmented reality and gesture control. Interactive stories provide a fun way for users to learn about different types of commuter and get a glimpse into the future of urban mobility where technology facilitates improved commuter streams.

With a tight schedule and uncompromising standards of technical and aesthetic excellence to be met, the Interactive Table project was a real challenge for madhat. To make it happen, the twelve-strong project team worked for weeks in close cooperation with Audi, Stylepark (the curators of the Audi Urban Future Initiative) and the architects.

Client

Audi

Commissioned by

Audi Urban Future Initiative / Audi Communications Culture & Trends

Partner

Höweler+Yoon Architects, Stylepark (Curators), metron (showcase construction)

Location

CES Las Vegas

Year

2014

Project scope

conception support, technical planning, software development, interface-, motion-, and sound-design, operation and maintenance

DE
EN

Audi Interactive City

Die Audi Urban Future Initiative ist interdisziplinäres Forum und Think Tank für die urbane Mobilität der Zukunft. Neben Workshops und Forschungsaufträgen an akademische und kulturelle Institutionen vergibt die Initiative im zweijährigen Turnus den Audi Urban Future Award. Gewinner des Awards 2012 war das Bostoner Architektur-Büro Höweler+Yoon Architecture mit einer Studie über Mobilität in der Region Boston.

Für die International Consumer Electronics Show 2014 in Las Vegas beauftragte die AUDI AG madhat mit der Entwicklung eines interaktiven Exponats, um die Vision erlebbar zu machen. Nach einem Entwurf von Höweler+Yoon schuf madhat ein futuristisches Stadtmodell, das durch Echtzeit-3D, Augmented Reality und Gestensteuerung Verkehrsströme, Datenflüsse und Technologien in der Stadt erlebbar macht. In interaktiven Storys können sich Benutzer über verschiedene Pendler-Typen informieren und erhalten einen Ausblick darauf, wie Technologien im urbanen Kontext das Pendeln des Einzelnen in der Stadt der Zukunft verändern und erleichtern können.

Ein straffer Zeitplan und höchste technische und ästhetische Ansprüche machten das Exponat zu einer echten Herausforderung für madhat. Ein zwölfköpfiges Projektteam arbeitete in enger Abstimmung mit Audi, Stylepark, dem Kurator der Audi Urban Future Initiative, und den Architekten an der Umsetzung des Exponats.

Kunde

Audi

Auftraggeber

Audi Urban Future Initiative / Audi Communications Culture & Trends

Partner

Höweler+Yoon Architects (Architektur), Stylepark (Kuration), metron (Exponatebau)

Ort

CES Las Vegas

Jahr

2014

Umfang

Konzept, technische Planung, Softwareentwicklung, Interface-, Motion- und Sounddesign, Betrieb