DE
EN

Audi Dance Game

At the 2013 Frankfurt Motor Show Audi turned the world upside down and took their visitors on a wild ride through space and time. For the new A3 Cabriolet the setting was Tokyo. For this area madhat developed a dance game inspired by the arcades of Shibuya and Shinjuku.

Visitors were invited to take a night ride through a futuristic Neon-Tokyo by steering a virtual A3 Cabriolet with their dance steps. The players could choose their own avatars, the game provided a tutorial mode and a high score list and at the end every player received a refreshing drink.

madhat created the Audi Dance Game as a custom software solution in Adobe AIR, receiving its inputs from a professional grade Dance Pad and displaying the game graphics on an 65" HD screen. Rather than having to painstakingly program the dance steps, the game provides a learning mode where new patterns can intuitively be recorded by simply dancing them.

A high-end 3D rendered animation provided the game's background. On this background all user-controllable game elements were superimposed as real-time 3D objects, complete with reflections and animations.

Client

Audi

Commissioned by

KMS Blackspace

Location

Frankfurt / IAA

Year

2013

Project Scope

conception support, technical planning, software development, interface- and motion-design

DE
EN

Audi Dance Game

Auf der IAA 2013 stellte Audi die Welt auf den Kopf und nahm die Besucher mit auf eine Reise durch Raum und Zeit. Beim neuen A3 Cabrio ging es nach Tokio. madhat entwickelte dafür ein Dance Game im Stil der Spiele-Arkaden von Shibuya und Shinjuku.

Auf einer nächtlichen Fahrt durch ein futuristisches Neon-Tokio konnten die Besucher durch Tanzschritte ein 3D-Modell des neuen A3 Cabrio steuern und mit Schrittkombinationen Punkte sammeln. Verschiedene Avatare standen für die Besucher zur Auswahl, einen Lern-Modus und eine High-Score-Liste gab es auch und am Schluss erhielt jeder Teilnehmer ein Erfrischungsgetränk.

madhat realisierte das Audi Dance Game mit einer selbst entwickelten Game-Software in Adobe AIR, die auf einem professionellen DancePad und einem 65"-Monitor lief.

Schrittfolgen mussten nicht abstrakt programmiert werden, sondern konnten ganz natürlich eingetanzt werden. Die Fahrt im Hintergrund war ein High-End-3D-Rendering, das Auto und alle Game-Elemente Echtzeit-3D-Objekte mit Reflexionen und Animationen.

Kunde

Audi

Auftraggeber

KMS Blackspace

Ort

Frankfurt / IAA

Jahr

2013

Umfang

Technische Planung, Konzept-Support, Programmierung, Interface- und Motiondesign