DE
EN

Astra POS-Steles

Want heavenly TV? Astra subscribers can enjoy hundreds of TV programmes in brilliant HD quality. With interactive steles in specialist electronics shops, the company aimed to give shoppers a first-hand taste of the quality of their offering.

Obviously, any broadcaster promoting the quality of their programme at the point of sale needs a needle-sharp full HD picture that runs smoothly with no compression artefacts. For many media players that in itself would be too much, but Astra wanted even more: an animated menu in ‘cover flow’ design, plus an interactive computer with tariff comparisons. All more than 250 times over, on PoS steles throughout Germany.

The madhat video and 3D engine does the trick perfectly. It runs on energy efficient, affordable hardware and offers perfect video quality and seamless transitions between HD information films, a teaser screensaver, and the interactive tariff calculator.

Since many locations have no internet, new content can be loaded manually in moments instead. The same USB updater can also be used to update or replace the application itself. User activity is recorded in extensive logs, and to cater for different power supply times in different markets, even the BIOS settings can be updated from within the application.

Please note: Our website videos can only provide an impression of how the Astra stele works. The actual image quality is much higher.

Client

Astra

Commissioned by

KMS Team

Location

more than 250 installations all over Germany

Year

since 2013

Project scope

technical planning, software development, hardware setup and testing, technical support

DE
EN

Astra Info-Stele

Überirdisch fernsehen mit Astra: das heißt hunderte TV-Programme in brillanter HD-Qualität genießen. Von diesem Angebot sollten sich Besucher von Elektronik-Fachgeschäften an interaktiven Stelen direkt überzeugen können.

Ein Broadcaster, der am "Point of Sale" für die Qualität seines Programms wirbt, braucht selbstverständlich ein gestochen scharfes Full-HD-Bild ohne Ruckler oder Kompressions-Artefakte. Viele Media-Player würden schon an dieser Aufgabe scheitern, aber Astra wollte noch mehr: ein animiertes Menue im "Cover-Flow"-Look und einen interaktiven Rechner mit Tarif-Vergleichen. Das Ganze über 250 Mal, auf POS-Stelen in ganz Deutschland.

Die madhat Video- und 3D-Engine schafft den Spagat: auf energiesparender, kostengünstiger Hardware bietet sie perfekte Videoqualität und nahtlose Übergänge zwischen HD-Info-Filmen, einem Teaser-Screensaver und dem interaktiven Tarifrechner.

Da an vielen Standorten keine Internetverbindung verfügbar ist können neue Inhalte für die Stele mit einem Handgriff per USB-Updater aufgespielt werden. Auch die Anwendung selbst kann so aktualisiert oder ausgetauscht werden. Das Nutzerverhalten wird in umfassenden Logs dokumentiert. Selbst BIOS-Einstellungen können aus der Anwendung heraus neu gesetzt werden, um auf unterschiedliche Stromversorgungszeiten in den verschiedenen Märkten reagieren zu können.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Qualität des Videos auf unserer Website nur einen Eindruck von der Funktionalität der Astra-Stele geben kann. Die eigentliche Bildqualität ist deutlich höher.

Kunde

Astra

Auftraggeber

KMS Team

Ort

über 250 Standorte in Deutschland

Jahr

seit 2013

Umfang

Technische Planung, Software-Entwicklung, Hardware-Einrichtung und -Testing, technischer Support